Tuko Pamoja*

*We are together.

For those of you who know me, and it possibly doesn’t take much ‘knowing me’ to see this, but I am definitely a person who lives inside their own head. I’ve spent most of my first week here doing a lot of absorbing. I’m adjusting well back into my life here in Zanzibar and it’s been a blast reuniting with the family, friends, and acquaintances who completely filled 9 weeks of my life last summer.

Those times I’ve spent in my head this week have concluded with the realization that I’ve had a pretty amazing opportunity laid in front of me; to live as a part of a community and yet remain, in some form, an outsider. I will undoubtedly grow, we’re just not sure in which direction yet. I hope I can walk away with having shared some of this experience with you. I hope, maybe insist, that my experiences, lessons, downfalls, triumphs can be yours as well. I don’t know if I am bound to say anything near insightful, but I know I can spread knowledge and understanding of this culture, so that some form of bridge building may be possible. If you’re tuning in, I believe you have the chance to grow with me. Twende – let’s go.

One thought on “Tuko Pamoja*

Leave a Reply

