Navigation

What to know what my life is really like?

I was walking through my neighborhood the other day. I like to take new routes every now and then and learn my way through the winding paths. As I was returning home and trying to re-walk the path I had taken in the morning I stopped to check where I was. I thought,

Nope. I shouldn’t turn here… I haven’t passed that one trash pile yet.

I had to stop at laugh at how different my life is here. A lot of things have become common place for me since moving here, that would probably shock the average westerner. I’m guessing using trash as a landmark might be one of those things.

Zanzibar has absolutely no waste management services. There’s municipality in the city, but it’s a joke. I’m not sure many of you reading this understand what this looks like. With my work at Zanrec I’ve spent the last few months witnessing this first hand. And honestly, the extent of this problem still gets to me.

One of three legal dumpsites. This is in the heart of the city.

One of three legal dumpsites. This is in the heart of the city.

One of three legal dumpsites. This is in the heart of the city.

Burning and burying trash are some of the only options for residents.

The side of the tourism industry you don't see.

The side of the tourism industry you don’t see.

Moo.

Moo.

*Pictures are property of Zanrec.

Leave a Reply

